Be excited and happy for the even keel days

I call these the mainstream days.  You take your meds on time.  You got a good amount of sleep the night before.  You go out in public and no one irritates you.  You get a lot accomplished.  Two or more is a lot for some of us.

Learn to be excited and treasure these days.  When the dark days come try to remember they are only temporary and that you will have even keel days again.

Don’t be so hard on yourself.  Depression and mania will come, but as long as we go to psychotherapy, put into action the skills we learn in therapy (how to learn our triggers, what to do when mania is on the rise or when sadness starts setting in and you know it will lead to depression).  Remember, we are not in control of these things.  The chemicals in our brain is not working with us or for us.  It is working against us because it is not working properly.  If they were, would we be the lovely, outstanding, unique individuals we are?

We must learn to embrace the things we do that are funny (as long as it is at no one’s expense) and say it’s okay.

Great example.  Had a great day.  I felt on top of the world because I installed a new door lock.  One was already there mind you, but I decided to add a second one.  I left voice messages for family members of how proud of me they would be.

When I went outside and turned to close the door, I realized, I now had two of the same locks.  Neither of them had a handle.  How am I supposed to pull the door open from the inside or close it from the outside.  Because I am even keeled, yet productive, I laughed and called the same members back and told them what had happened.  They laughed too, but were still proud that I was able to do it.

Sometimes we need to look at what we do and make ourselves laugh and not hope that someone else will be able to make us laugh and get us out of the depression boat.  We need to take responsibility when we can (by knowing our triggers we can get to a solution before it spirals out of control into dark depression)

Learn to laugh at yourself, when you catch yourself about to do something silly, like putting the iron into the refrigerator.  Yes, I have actually done that.

Maybe its a good idea to put some of these things in the bipolar toolkit and read them out loud when depression tries to get in the way.

These things are going to happen and that is why we need to have an arsenal of tools in our bipolar toolkit.

Love to all

pb (aka peanut butter)

Positive comments and feedback always welcome.  Stay strong.  We are all needed in this life.  We are all important whether we feel, believe, realize it or not.

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

Leave a Reply

