Choosing a Therapist

I remember a time when a friend of mine was going through problems, before I was diagnosed with bipolar.  I was there when they were being evaluated and as I listened to the questions the therapist was asking of my friend, I found myself answering them for myself, within myself.  They were not specific to bipolar.  I had never even heard of bipolar.

But listening to the questions let me know I needed to talk to someone because of what I was going through.  Maybe there was something not quite right with me or maybe all was well but I was experiencing some of the same things my friend was but not to the same degree (at the time).

I could have diagnosed myself based on what I was hearing, but that would not have been the right thing to do.  Instead, I spoke in private for a few minutes after my friend’s session ended and was told that I definitely needed to see someone and be evaluated.

It would have been so easy to just start thinking I was depressed and that it would go away in a few days or weeks or whatever and not follow up.  I could have listened to some people tell me what was wrong and try to “just snap out of it” or listen to people say, “oh, that’s normal.  That happens to me from time to time” or any of the other common answers you hear people say when they really don’t know what to say or don’t want to tell you, you need help because they don’t want to hurt your feelings.

That is why it is so important to seek out a therapist and be evaluated when you think something is not right.  You might just be going through a rough patch of life at the time and maybe not, but at least find out from a professional.

Check out this article for choosing a therapist.  I found it on the ADAA (Anxiety and Depression Association of America) website.  Here is the link: http://www.adaa.org/finding-help/treatment/choosing-therapist

 

love to all

pb aka peanut butter

 

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

Leave a Reply

