Finding you with bipolar

Rules.  Everywhere we go, whatever we do, someone has decided what is right and what is wrong.  Don’t get me wrong.  Rules are very necessary.  We can almost all agree on that rules are needed.

Normalcy.  That is a different topic.  Everyone can have a different view or opinion of what is normal.  I challenge you to find out what is normal for with having bipolar.  You can’t get rid of bipolar, but you can find a balance.

Medication (most of the time when we feel great, don’t want it.  That’s normal for some of us, like me).  It can also be a danger sign, a red flag, that when I am feeling great, I feel that I don’t have bipolar.  It does not exist and I don’t need the meds.  But a very little moment of clarity says, “”What happens when you don’t take the meds?”  The answer is, everything happens and nothing good.  Everything with cleanup involved; whether it be mending a relationship that I almost destroyed with word, actions or disappearing (by zoning everyone out, not answering the phone, not letting anyone know I was alright).

Normalcy for me, is spending time getting to know me with the bipolar because it will be there whether I want it or not.  But finding me in spite of the bipolar says, You are more than bipolar.  I am not bipolar, I have bipolar.  I also have high blood pressure but I am not high blood pressure.  I am not kidney disease.  I have kidney problems, but like bipolar, I am at a manageable stage.  Bipolar can be managed but it is up to the individual to decide what is normal for you with bipolar.

Ex:  The rule of thumb is eight hours of sleep.  That is not normal for me.  You have to give me a horse tranquilizer to knock me out that long.  Normal for me is 5 to 6 hours straight and I am good to go.  Some say, that’s your problem.  You don’t get enough sleep.  It’s enough for me and that’s what matters.

The rule of thumb is: eat 6 small meals a day to stay at normal weight.  Who decides what is normal weight for me?  Normal weight for me (gotcha, you thought I was going to tell it, hah).  Normal weight for me is what is a healthy weight for me.  Learn what foods work for you.  Do certain foods have triggers for you.  Learn the best time for you to eat.  Learn portion control.

When we learn to control the things we can control, it helps us to live through the bipolar episodes.  They will still come, but maybe we can control to what extent.  We don’t have to go to the edge and look over, we don’t even have to go to the edge.  But at times, we might approach it (not under our control when).  That’s why we need to put things into proper perspective when we are in the frame of mind to do so.

I have no thyroid and on bipolar medication with weight gain side effects, (lack of a thyroid and the meds affect my weight to a degree)

bipolar-quotes-02-300x240
bipolar-quotes-02-300×240 (Photo credit: Life Mental Health)

but I am probably healthier than someone else my same weight because I manage my portion controls, I work out, my way.  I get the sleep I need (I am not greedy with sleep, although sometimes I am stingy with it during mania).  This morning (time now 2:56 am) is not a stingy time.  I slept most of the day after staying up most of the day and night for the last few days and nights.  I slept for a couple of hours in the afternoon.  Ate dinner and went right back to sleep.  Total sleep time 5-6 hours.  Good to go.  For how long, don’t know.  This is my time.  The time I like being awake.  When all is quiet.  I like being up before the daylight comes when everything and everyone is stirring.  This is my normalcy.

Me, in spite of the bipolar or should I say with bipolar: like the quiet hours of the day or night.  Before children get up and out screaming and all that good jazz.  I am older now and don’t like a lot of loud screaming children.  Actually, did not like it much when I was younger, so that is me in spite of the bipolar and still me with the bipolar.

In spite of having bipolar, I am funny, talented, creative, intelligent, etc.  but I won’t go on.  You have a list too.  There are many things you are even though you have bipolar as one of them, but bipolar is not the main thing you have.

You have intelligence.  We all do, although that does come into question sometimes when we are manic or depressed or heading in one of those directions to the extreme.

So, find one thing you like to do that has nothing to do with whether or not you have bipolar, do it.  Then find another and so on.  Learn who you are.  Learn how to be you with having bipolar.

Learn what sleep patterns work best for you.  Sleep is essential, but we don’t all need it at the same time or for the same amount of time, but we do need it.  Our body needs it, and our brain needs it.  If we live with someone, they need for us to sleep sometimes too.  It gives normalcy to their life.

Learn what you like to do and do it well.  Well according to what you define as well for you.

You are learning about bipolar ups and downs, triggers, the middle of the pole, the extreme ends of the pole.  Learn you.  That will help you live with the bipolar.

love to all

pb aka peanut butter

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

Leave a Reply

