Medications and side effects

Yes, we must take them.  That’s what we are told.  And we do if we want to maintain some sort of stability emotionally because bipolar is mentally, emotionally and sometimes physically challenging.        

English: medications
English: medications (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

How many of you read the information that comes with the medications.  What it is supposed to do.  Why it is being prescribed, most important how to take the medication and the side effects to report.

Boring, time consuming, but very necessary.  Sometimes you start experiencing some physical symptoms that the regular doctor cannot figure out.  They don’t know you may be having side effects to some type of new medication, but you will, if you read the information.

For a long time I would just glance at the leaflet to make sure it was the right medication.  When things started happening physically and the doctors could not figure it out, it was up to me to figure out what had changed in my life.  Medication.

Sometimes I took it the wrong time of day or night.  With or without food, that matters.  Some of the meds had the same drowsiness effect, in which case, I was sleepy all the time.  That was not normal for me.  You and the medications have to work together with your doctors and therapist.  They are your treatment team.

Be good to you and start reading those information leaflets and take the medications the right way.  They even tell you when to call the doctor if certain things start to happen.

Case in point: I was overheating all the time.  Had to have the a/c on in the car all the time, even in 70 degree weather.  Would have drops of sweat pouring off my face with the least amount of activity.  Running around all day, as if I was on roller skates, heart racing, sometimes pounding, other symptoms as well.  This was not normal.  Stressed to my primary care dr. I needed my thyroid levels to be tested and I was right.  The levels were too high.  I asked the pharmacist about what was going on and he was I had described all the symptoms of thyroid levels being too high.  An adjustment was made, now I am fine (as far as that goes).  The point is, had I read the leaflet, I would have know to call the dr. right away and would not have spent the spring and summer suffering.  I would have to rub my head and neck with ice cubes to bring my body temperature down if I over heated from being outdoors too long.            

English: Ice cubes
English: Ice cubes (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Even the bipolar meds, all meds, have side effects.  Read the information, be your own advocate for mental and physical health.

love to all

peanut butter

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

Leave a Reply

