Let’s talk Mania

On the bipolar pole at one end is depression and the other is mania.  For wellness, we strive to be in the middle, although we already know at some point in time we may go to one side more than the other and then reverse.

 

Mania is known to be the highs and lows of bipolar. There is less need for sleep.  We run off of seemingly endless adrenaline. We have racing thoughts.  We jump subject to subject and sometimes our conversation is too much for people.

 

English: stunt mania
English: stunt mania (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

At the extreme, we engage in reckless behavior.  I tend to speed, not as much anymore.  When I recognize I am in mania mode, my number one rule in my tool box for wellness is not to drive and not to shop.  When my mania was out of control and I was working, I would go on spending sprees.  Make up any excuse to shop.  Sometimes I would end up with two of the same outfits and wear neither one.  The tags would still be on them when I would look in my closet.

 

I could not sleep.  Taking over the counter sleeping pills did nothing. I would still wake up every hour or two.  Take another pill and try once again to sleep through the night but to no avail.

 

Business ideas would come one right after another.  They well thought out on paper and planned with high energy and just knowing that they would work out.

 

Then the crash would come.  I would bypass mainstream normal and drop to depression.

 

Getting the help I needed and still need in order to maintain wellness, was the best thing I ever did for myself.  Mania is tiring for me and the people around me at the time.

 

It is so important to get to know when you are entering a manic episode or storm as I call them.  Knowing gives you time to reach into your toolbox (that I hope you have) and force yourself to do the things or get the help you need before you go to the end of the pole in either direction.

 

love to all pb

 

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

Leave a Reply

