False and Truth of bipolar and depression no. 2

False thinking:  “Talk therapy is just whining about problems.  It doesn’t help.

Truth: Talk therapy has been tested clinically and found to be effective.  In some cases it works well with medication.  Good talk therapy helps change behaviors that can make a person’s moods less stable.

I know this to be true for me.  Sometimes when I try to share how I am feeling right before a store or while I am going through an episode whether it be depression or mania, some people have a negative view on going to a therapist or psychiatrist.  They think you are having a pity party or that they tell you what to do.  I personally have benefited from talk therapy or psychotherapy along with my medications.

I do most of the talking.  My therapist listens, gives input, helps me to see my stinking thinking (the illogical, paronoid, unrealistic, bipolar thoughts).  As we talk, I begin to get clarity as I listen to myself.  My thoughts become clearer and make more sense.  I learn new coping skills and we brainstorm to come up with ways for me to handle the storms of bipolar episodes.

My wellness toolkit resulted from an assignment from my therapist to come up with a plan for when I am depressed and when I am manic.  It works really well because if I want to maintain wellness and have shorter storms or less severe storms, I force myself to use whatever tool is appropriate for the situation, including making sure I keep my appointments with the therapist, psychiatrist and regular doctor.  They work together as part of my treatment team.

Image

It also helps me be more aware of when a storm is coming.  As we talk, I see patterns of things that happen before I get very depressed or very manic.  I get to know when to use a tool.  Like I said, the storms will come and we cannot control when, but we can control how we weather the storm by using our tools.

Love to all

pb

mybipolarworld52@gmail.com

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

Leave a Reply

