Stigma is not the only hard thing about mental illness

Keeping track and taking medications on time on a regular basis is hard.  Once we get over the stigma of having a mental illness, we need to work on being well.  Part of being well is taking our medications are directed.

I know this area is really hard for me.  I set my phone alarm, clock alarms, whatever I can do to stay on track, but the bottom line is that sometimes I just don’t want to take them. I am tired of taking them, so I subconsciously forget.  I either forget to take them or forget if I took them.

I got a pill box for each day of the week and the number of times I have to take medications.  Sometimes I run out before I pickup my refill.  Not only do I need to know my schedule, so does someone close to me so they can help me stay on track and in case if I am sick and cannot answer that question at the hospital or wherever I am when I need medical attention.  Questions like, what meds am I on.  Am I allergic to any medication, questions like that and how about the name of my primary care physician and phone number.

There is this great sight that helps you put all that into perspective by giving you an online tool to put everything in order, print it out and keep one copy on your person when you go out and give one to an emergency contact person who will need to know.

The side is http://mymedschedule.com/

I love it.  You put in the names of your meds, it gives you a picture of what the pill should look like, asks the dosage you take, the time, the amount.  You can set e-mail or text reminders.  The name(s) of your Dr. and contact number can be included on the printout.  You can even printout the list of meds wallet size.  Check it out.  It is a pain in the butt to do it the first time, but you only have to do it once.

The information stays and you can revise as necessary without redoing the whole thing.  Check it out.

love to all

pb

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

Leave a Reply

