Hmmmmmm. What about the other people?

Former logo
Former logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Do you ever wonder about other people: if they have bipolar?  You know you it.  You know your triggers and what happens.  You know your mania and your depression.  Can you tell it for sure if you see it in others?

Some people that I meet and have conversations with or have worked with (looking back now), makes me wonder, if they have bipolar.  I no longer see them, so I don’t know if it was just something they were going through.  I remember certain people who would just lash out at me verbally and I would not even have a chance to defend myself.  They would lash out some accusation that I did something to make them feel a certain way, when clearly, that was not the intent.  Either I would do something or say something that I normally did and one day they would flip the script and just lash out.  Pretty much like I do when I’m extremely irritable because I’m mainc or heading toward full blown mania.

Some other things they did that I do or used to do before I started treatment.  I don’t know, but do you ever wonder if someone from your past or your present has bipolar and doesn’t know it?  Maybe not even bipolar, maybe they suffer from depression or some other mood disorder?

They see something different in us.  The way we respond or react at times to a situation we reacted or responded to differently on a previous occasion.  The unpredictable behavior.  The erratic behavior, the mood swings: one minute lovey-dovey, the next day “just leave me .. alone.

I once dated a guy who said, I never know what I’m coming home to.  He meant how my mood was going to be.  Now that I look back, I did not know either and I still never know how my mood is going to be.  I don’t know when it is going to shift, but I have learned to be on the watch for clues by checking in with myself.

A good friend recently told me that sometimes I too fast and it makes people think I am rushing them.  She reminded me that sometimes I say, “I have all this energy” and that is when I am moving about really fast.

That was good insight on her part and now a clue for me for mania.  When I feel like I have a lot of energy, that really is my mania when I think about it.  That is when I get a lot done in a short period of time.  I am most productive.  Talk a mile a minute and finish up projects that had been started.

Thank God for good friends who tell you what they see and you can use that as a tool to check-in with yourself.

be good to you

love to all

pb aka peanut butter

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

Leave a Reply

