Knowing when to get help

2011-06 Hawaii
2011-06 Hawaii (Photo credit: whsaito)
2011-06 Hawaii
2011-06 Hawaii (Photo credit: whsaito)

Long time no posts.  That is because I was in the hospital.  I knew when to get help.  The depression overtook me and it was too much to bear so I went to see my therapist and we both agreed it was time to go to the hospital for more help.

If I could have chosen a different facility, I would have and would not have spent the first few days fighting being there.  I have heard repeatedly that OSU and Dublin Springs are good places to go if you have to seek out help at a hospital.  That being said, I am glad I was hospitalized.

It was good to be around people and not to myself.  The group sessions were all about something I needed.  They were thought provoking and let me know that there were hidden issues I needed to deal with and that was a starting point.  Even Art Therapy was helpful.  It gave me food for thought and direction where I want to go in life from here.

Being around others with similar problems was a big help.  We understood each other and we did not judge each other.  We talked and learned from each other.

I came out  with new insight, uncovered issues to work on with my therapist and feeling totally new again.  Ready for life.

I know challenges are going to come again with the depression and mania, but I am confident, that I will be able to handle them knowing that I have a stronger support system now and being willing to reach out to them.

It is good to come up with a game plan for extra help before you need it and to use your support system when you need it.  My problem is that the support was there but I did not want to be a burden.  I used have used every lifeline I had but the flip side is that perhaps I would not have realized other underlying issues that contribute to my depression and not have started working on resolving them.

be good to you and purpose to have an awesome day.

pb aka peanut butter

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

Leave a Reply

