Knowing your options for getting help

Sometimes we can use all the coping skills and tools we know to get through an episode of mania or depression.  But, what do we do when what we have been doing is not working?

Some options for seeking immediate help:

Help!
Help! (Photo credit: Rainier N.)

Call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 1-800-273- TALK (8255)

Call 911

Have a family member or friend take you to the nearest emergency room

Call your therapist or psychiatrist if you have one.  If you are in great need of help and your mental health provider is not available, take one of the above actions.

What qualifies as a mental health emergency?

Suicide ideology or attempted suicide.  The threat of harm to another person.  When a patient is becoming psychotic and is being led by audio/visual hallucinations.

If someone is in crisis, they may not want to go to the emergency room.  If this is the case, please call 911 if you feel they are a threat to themselves or someone else.  Accompany or meet them at the hospital and reassure them you are there for them. No one wants to be taken to the emergency room and be left on their own.  They may not be able to articulate the help they need.  They may be in such crisis, that they may not even know why they are there.

Please take threats of suicide seriously.  Especially if the threats have been voiced while the person has been going through depression, is inebriated or under the influence of drugs.  It is dangerous to believe the person is only joking.  You may be taking a risk that left alone, this person may carry through on the threat.

If someone has been depressed and is putting their affairs in order, giving away things they treasure, talking about what is going to happen when they are gone.  Ask them to talk to someone first and get them help.

I am not a clinician.  Just a person with bipolar who suffers with depression and mania.  I have been on the depressed side.  Sometimes so distraught that I made calls to friends in hysteria, not even remembering my conversation with them.  By the time I called, I was hopeless, felt helpless, confused and feeling like no one cared.  What’s the point of living was the question I could not answer.  What was I here for?  What meaning did my life have?

This was a cry for help?  Fortunately someone heard me and sent for the paramedics to take me to the hospital for the help I needed.  Be appreciative when someone gets you to help.

be good to you, love to all

pb aka peanut butter

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

1 thought on “Knowing your options for getting help”

Leave a Reply

