Hope shines through

 

For a while I felt like my life had limitations because of living with bipolar 1, but going to the Partial Hospitalization Program groups has caused hope to shine through.

 

 

Sunshine
Sunshine (Photo credit: Jong Soo(Peter) Lee)

I now know that as long as I stay with my medications, psychotherapy and wellness plans, there is no limit to what I can do.  I do not have to live a life with limitations just because I live with a mental illness.

 

 

I have heard of famous people with mental illness and successful business people with mental illness but because I have been struggling, I had almost given up home.

 

 

In the program, I am learning more coping skills and techniques to deal with anxiety, depression, loneliness, mania and other issues that go along with having a mental illness.

 

 

The only thing holding me back from reaching my dreams is me.

 

 

English: Fireworks on the first day of Summerf...
English: Fireworks on the first day of Summerfest, Milwaukee, Wisconsin (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It is exhilarating to have hope again.  I don’t just have hope.  I have an “I can” and “I will” attitude again.

 

 

I encourage anyone who is having a tough time dealing with mental illness to get into a partial hospitalization or intensive outpatient program.  You will be with others who understand what you are going through: the ups and downs of living with mental illness.

 

 

You will be encouraged to set goals and given the tools you need to reach them.  You will be able to talk to people who understand, both staff and others in the program.  If you start out having a rough day, chances are you will leave feeling different than when you went in.

 

 

It is another resource for living a mentally healthy lifestyle.

 

 

I feel like I am beginning to come out of the black hole of depression and hopelessness that I have been in and out of for a while.  It has been feeling like just when I see the sun shining in to lead me out of depression that something sucked me back in.  Now my days are getting better  with each day being better than the day before.  I am feeling like me more and more and the feeling is staying longer.  Before I would feel like me again, but it would not last.  The sadness and depression would soon take over again.  Now I am more like me with the passing of each moment of the day and it feels great.

 

 

love to all

 

 

pb aka peanut butter

 

 

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

1 thought on “Hope shines through”

Leave a Reply

