Partial Hospitalization Program (PHP)

Lava, meet the sea - Hawaii
Lava, meet the sea – Hawaii (Photo credit: cleber)

This is an outpatient program that you attend everyday from morning until early afternoon.  The hours may vary depending on where you attend.

When I was first discharged from inpatient a couple of weeks ago, I was scheduled to begin the program a couple of days after.  I was not sure if I was going to start the program because I felt going to my therapist a couple of times a week and to the psychiatrist for medication management was enough.

Funny thing, if it was enough, I would not have gone to the hospital.  Even funnier is the fact that I had already decided a while ago that I needed more than that but did not follow through.  You know when what you are doing is not enough, but you don’t always know how to get more help or where to get it from.

Going to the program is making such a difference because I am learning more coping skills than I would have learned going to the therapist an extra day a week.  I learn not only from the facilitators but from others with a mental illness diagnosis.

I am learning how to retrain my brain to handle depression and mania as well as anxiety and panic attacks.

It never hurts to add more tools to the bipolar wellness toolkit I carry with me.

I also enjoy sharing my experiences and what has worked for me with others.  It is a relief being in the company of others who understand the suffering that often comes with living with a mental illness and to not be alone.

It is great to have people check on you and how your mental health is on a daily basis.

Being around others who understand and care makes a great deal of difference than facing the illness alone day to day.

I highly recommend a  PHP program to anyone with a mental illness.  It helps to have a set of tools in place before you need them in a time of crisis.

Check out where a program is offered and if there is a waiting list to get into it, before you hit crisis mode.  it just may keep you from having to go inpatient and if you do have to go inpatient, it is nice to be able to have a program to come back to when you are discharged.

If you do not feel you need to go 5 days a week, some facilities also offer a 3 day program which may or may not be all day for the 3 days.  It may also be called Intensive Outpatient Program.

love to all and be good to you by purposing to have an awesome day

pb aka peanut butter

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

Leave a Reply

