More on Bipolar Disorder in Children and Teens

Bipolar Disorder in Children and Teens pamphlet produced by NIMH (National Institute of Mental Health).

How is bipolar disorder different in children and teens than it is in adults?

When children develop the illness, it is called early-onset bipolar disorder.  This type can be more severe than bipolar disorder in older teens and adults.  Also, young people with bipolar disorder may have symptoms more often and switch moods more frequently than adults with the illness.

This is definitely new information for me.  There is so much information compacted into this pamphlet, this I encourage anyone with bipolar or who knows someone with bipolar disorder to go to this website and read about it online or order the pamphlet.  It is free and very useful.

I myself, wish more had been known and said about manic-depression when I was younger.  I remember losing my temper on numerous occasions and having blow-outs.  I did not know what caused them.  One day I ended up on the floor in what I thought was abdominal pain but now I know it was emotional pain.  The doctor said nothing was wrong but that when things are kept inside they have to come out one way or the other.  Mine came out in rage, not anger.  So now I look back and see that everything that I felt and experienced (all heightened emotions) were manic-depressive episodes plus some P.T.S.D emotional reactions.

Today, knowing what I know, I can look back and see that I had bipolar as a teen.  No one knew I had suicide ideology.  No one knew that my sadness was depression.  No one knew anything was wrong.  I always felt alone, even when surrounded by people.  The sadness was always there, though not always showing.  I don’t think anyone ever even noticed that I was down.  I spent so much energy trying to appear that nothing was wrong. It was hard and it was tiring.  

Don’t ignore signs in others.

pb aka peanut butter

Remember, purpose to have an awesome day

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

Leave a Reply

