I soar like the eagle

Today I soar like the eagle.  Te eagle flies high and he flies alone.

Bald Eagle diving for salmon (IMG_1561a)
Bald Eagle diving for salmon (IMG_1561a) (Photo credit: Alaskan Dude)

Today I am alone but I am high above my episodes of depression and mania.  How log I will stay at this altitude, I don’t know, but right now I am high above it.  My wings are stretched wide and I am taking deep breaths and letting the air fill my lungs.  I am exhaling as I veer to the right and then to the left.  I come back to the center and thus maintain my balance and my altitude.

Today, right now, I am an eagle flying high above depression and mania, above my mental illness and all the rage and sadness that comes with it.  The feelings of isolation, abandonment, self-destruction that often occur.

I plan to fly for a long time at this altitude, but the mind of a person with a mental illness has its own agenda and sometimes changes the flight plan without warning.  It starts to take us down the side of depression or climb an even higher altitude to mania.  We have no control over the plan change, but we can take control back when we realize what is happening and use our wellness tools.

We can keep from going to far one side to the other or descending into depression or rising too high into mania.  Using our tools, resources (including our support system) and activities that focus our mind else where, will help us stay at the right flight level.

be good to you and love to all

pb aka peanut butter.

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

Leave a Reply

