Know yourself enough to know

With a mental illness, we are not immune to suicide thoughts and attempts.

Know yourself enough to know when you are getting into suicide territory so you can reach for help. Know what help is available.

Know the hotline number.  It is programmed into my cell phone and posted next to the phone in my office.

Know who you can call.  I have those people on speed dial.  I know they will take my call if at all possible because I am just that important to them.

Know where to go.  I call my therapist to get a same day appointment (she is usually very accommodating, especially if I am in distress).  A session helps me move away from suicide thoughts. If a visit is not possible, she will talk to me over the phone until it is safe for me.  If it is really bad, I know to go to the hospital.  I need to be safe.  I also know who’s house I can go to and stay if I don’t want to go to the hospital.  Go to that place of safety.  Don’t be alone.

You can also have a “safe word” arranged with people you call.  In other words, come up with a word you can use to let the person at the other end of the phone or opening the door, know you are in crisis.  Having a safe word means you don’t have to have to do a lot of explaining.  Just using the word means you are in crisis.

Have a plan worked out with that person to make sure you get the help you need.  Maybe you just need to talk, maybe you need to change where you are, maybe you need someone to stay with you or take you to the hospital.

Just have a plan of action.

be good to you.  know your signs and symptoms.  be good to you and get help because you are worth it.

love to all

pb aka peanut butter

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

1 thought on “Know yourself enough to know”

Leave a Reply

