Revised: Can we manage our lows or highs?

Can we manage how low or high we go

With bipolar, the bad days are really bad as with any other mental illness.

I can be irritable at everything and everyone, hopeless and often isolate myself because I can become explosive. I can’t concentrate, I have no focus, on and on.

The good even tone days are really good.  The opposite of the bad days of course. I move at a normal pace and everything is seems fine.

When I get start to feel hyper, I know I am heading for a manic episode.  My episodes are high and sometimes get explosive.  I do project after project, talk fast because of racing thoughts, friends can’t take the subject jumping conversation. I become restless and find it difficult to stay in one place. I always have to be on the go, even if I just paced back and forth at a moderate speed. My body has to keep moving.  Sometimes I feel rage and have to figure out how to get rid of it.  My mind doesn’t think logically in depression or mania. Sometimes my actions are not rational and can be self-defeating or self-destructive.

To manage these episodes a little better I made a tool kit for my bipolar episodes (aka manic-depression). It is a small  photo album I carry with me.  It has color index cards for what to do when I am manic (like do not drive and do not go shopping.  I shop impulsively and spend money I can’t afford to spend.) and when I am depressed (like who to call for support or watch a good comedy, I even wrote down the name of my favorite movie to watch.  On the first page, I have all my emergency crisis phone numbers, like the therapist, the psychiatrist, 24 hr. crisis hotline number.  This way I have these numbers at my fingertips.

You can put anything in your toolbox.  Visit http://www.dbsalliance.org before you need to, in order to get ideas for wellness living with bipolar.  It is a great sight to visit when you are not experiencing an episode so you can get ideas on how to manage one.  We know that we cannot escape depression or mania with bipolar, but we can learn to keep them from escalating to extreme proportions.

Remember, every episode can be considered a storm that we must make it through and that we have come through other storms.  Stay encouraged and remember you are not alone.

love to all

pb aka peanut butter

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

2 thoughts on “Revised: Can we manage our lows or highs?”

Leave a Reply

