Look without thinking: using the toolkit

Sometimes when we get depressed or manic we don’t know how to stop the mood from snowballing.

This is where your own designed wellness toolkit comes in handy.

Toolbox
Toolbox (Photo credit: tps12)

You have added to it, looked over it when not manic or depressed and you know some of it.  But the one thing you do not have to remember is what it says for which episode.

You only have to remember where it is and to look in it.  You use the tools because you do not want to go to the extreme end of the pole.  You remember to breathe because it is on the first page.

My action when I am going in the manic or depressed zone (when I realize what is happening):

Look in my bipolar wellness toolkit ( it stays in my pocketbook so it is with me all the time) and start using the apporpriate tool for what is going on.

If depressed, 1. Get dressed and make sure to put on a light colored top. 2.Call someone and talk about them.  What is funny or interesting that is going on in their life.  or Get out of the house once I get dressed and go to a favorite place or visit someone.  Listen to music while I am driving.  Make sure to have tissue in the car for those depressed times I can’t hold back the tears.

Step 2 can be anything that will change the direction of the downward spiral of depression or help you get to your support person.

Manic: depending on how manic, do not drive.  Do yoga, deep breathing after lighting a candle.  Call someone who is a support person and who will not get stressed out over me talking a mile a minute or subject jumping becasue of racing thoughts

Whatever you need to get through your mania or depressed episode put it in your toolkit along with phone numbers of your psychiatrist, therapist, support people and the crisis hotline number.

Your toolkit is an invaluable tool.

If you don’t carry a pocketbook,  keep a small pad or small pocket size spiral book: just make sure to put your tools in something small enough for you to carry at all times and keep it in your purse or wallet.

The first time you have to use a tool, you will be glad you had all the information handy.

love to all

be prepared

pb aka peanut butter

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

Leave a Reply

