Purpose of my blog

To let you into my bipolar world.  Although it seems that things are controlled, it is then, that they are the most uncontrolled.  I share in hopes that you will continue to know that you are not alone in how you feel, in how you act or react to people, circumstances or loved ones.

According to numerous sources in the Mental Health arena, there are different types of bipolar.  I prefer to say different degrees, but I am not a professional.  I do not study others behavior, only mine.  I do not treat people, I only try to make myself well by using the tools I have, therefore don’t take what I write as the absolute, but check for yourself and please correct me if I am wrong.  We are hear to support each other and learn from each other.  As I said, I do not study the bipolar behavior in people, I just live it.

Cyclothymia seems to be the least problematic.  It is also known as cyclothymic disorder and seems to be the less severe from what I have read.  It is a relatively mild mood disorder.  People with this disorder have milder symptoms that people who go through a full-blown mania episode (known as hypomania)

Rapid Cycling.  A person with this type of bipolar experiences 4 or more episodes of mania or depression in a year.  Statistics say about 10 to 20% of people with bipolar disorder have rapid cycling.

Bipolar II- A person living with bipolar ll has moods that cycle between high and low over a period of time.  The up moods never reach full-on mania.

Bipolar l.  A person living with bipolar l has had at least on e manic episode in his or her life. The manic episode is usually a period of time during which the person experiences an abnormally elevated mood, accompanied by abnormal behavior that causes an interruption in their day to day life.

Regardless of which classification of bipolar disorder a person has been diagnosed with (the key word, diagnosed), all involve episodes of depression and mania to different degrees.

We cannot look at our behavior or anyone else’s and make the determination or the diagnosis.  Professionals are trained to do this and the criteria is very on point.  Mental illness is not something we choose but it chooses us.  Many contributing factors, but nothing that says at birth, this person will definitely have bipolar 1 or bipolar ll.

We need to continue to educate ourselves and those around us about this illness.

It is nothing new.  Years ago, it was referred to as manic-depression or mani-depressive.  I think bipolar disorder just makes it sound less severe, but make no mistake, it is no less severe than when it was called by its’ former name.

It is a complex illness and one not to be taken lightly.  The main thing is to be accessed, get treatment by someone in the health field you have seen, trust and believe has your best interest at heart.  You are part of the solution since it is your problem.  Don’t let anyone have total control over your treatment plan.  You sign off on it.  Question it before you sign off on it.  The team only sees a fraction of what it does to your life.  You see and experience it all.

be good to you

love to all

pb aka peanut butter

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

1 thought on “Purpose of my blog”

Leave a Reply

