Reaction vs. Response

Sometimes I react to a situation as opposed to responding.

The difference is that when I react, I do not make the right decision or say the right thing and it usually gets me into trouble.  My response is usually based on impulse or emotions.

When I respond, it means I have taken time to absorb what has or is happening and usually make a better decision or take a better course of action.  

Recently something happened that upset me and I was ready to react irrationally which would have made the situation a great deal worse.  I started to cry and get anxious so I played a game on my tablet after I took an anxiety pill. This actually proved to be a good thing because it gave me time to think.

I wrote this down and shared it with my therapist who wanted me to share it on my blog:

When you hear something:

Think about it for a moment and do one of two things

Discard it or let it marinate

If you let it marinate, ask yourself:

Are you getting ready to react or respond?

Is your solution logical or irrational?

Then take the appropriate action 

Doing this helped me make the right decision and do the right thing.

No one had hurt feelings including myself.

Had I reacted with my first thought, it would have been an impulsive response and the other person and myself would have been upset and the situation would have escalated.

I keep this note with me and read it to remind myself what I need to do when faced with challenging situations.

Will I always respond instead of react?  Not all the time, but I do believe that I will respond more times than I react.

At least that’s the plan.

love to all

pb aka peanut butter

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

2 thoughts on “Reaction vs. Response”

    1. I do. She has shared in my pain (the depressive cycles) and in my joys (milestones in getting better). She really is a treasure. I am blessed to have someone who genuinely cares. When I travel, she is on speed dial. I never feel like I am without a safety net. I wish you all the good that life brings and an amazing future.

Leave a Reply

