Gotta keep it moving

I went to intake today at OOD.  It is an organization that help people with physical and mental disabilities get and keep a job.  At the intake session they ask all about your work experience, education and disabilities and if you had any problems with substance abuse.  The logic is that the more they know about you, the more they will be able to provide services that meet your needs and help you transition into employment that you will like.

I realized that although I have started college many times over  in my adult life and have had several jobs in different fields as well, I actually felt proud of myself.  You may ask why would I be proud of my self with so many attempts at completing a college degree and so many different jobs.  Most people attend one or to colleges and have 2-3 jobs or career changes in their adult life.  Not me.

This definitely goes to one of the things that make me unique.  I realized that in spite of  setbacks and an illness that was there despite my lack of knowledge of having it, I still kept it moving.  I kept trying to earn a college degree.  I had to stop and start jobs, but I kept trying to work.  I never gave up.  

Sometimes not knowing what is wrong or what makes you do what you do, can be frustrating.  Not me.  I never knew why I was not stable enough to complete college or stay with the same job for longer than 18 months before walking away from it.  Even without knowing, bipolar was the culprit, I kept life moving.  I kept trying and that made me proud.  It is always easier to give up when you cannot accomplish what you want in the time frame you give yourself, but I kept trying.  Years would go by, I would get better and try again.

Now that I know it is mental illness that kept me in that cycle, I can fight it.  I can stay in treatment, keep taking my  medications and keep it moving.  There will be setbacks, I am certain of this.  The difference is that now I know what is going on with me, why I do what I do and I have people (my support team) to help me when I get into trouble.

There were patterns in my life before quitting college, before quitting a job.  I just did not know the pattern.  Now I know the pattern is what started as triggers for a manic or depressed episode. By knowing my triggers, I can get help.  Getting help, will help me keep my job.  

Keeping my job is another way to keep it moving.  To keep life moving, to keep working toward living my dreams and living my life to what is the fullest to me.

love to all

pb aka peanut butter

Remember, in spite of setbacks, keep it moving.

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

1 thought on “Gotta keep it moving”

  1. wow this is wonderful. this makes me feel better about myself as well. thank you for pointing this out. it’s so important to remember.

Leave a Reply

