Laugh in the face of not so good news

Today I got some not so good news back to back and all I could do was laugh.

What were my choices?  I could take the news, accept that there were no options, climb inside myself and cry till there were no more tears.  The second, choice (I gladly made) to laugh and realize that life is still good and these issues were just hiccups in the greater scheme of life.

People who know I have bipolar but don’t really know me, might say, I was laughing because I was manic.  Others who do not know me, may not refer to my behavior as manic, but would think my behavior was odd.

Well, the truth is, despite life’s’ upsets of mental illness symptoms, setbacks, physical ailments, unpaid bills, job loss and everything else, life is exciting and we need to learn to laugh more than we cry.

Because I took the second road, I was able to think clearly and resolve at least one of the problems and chose not to stress over the other.  There is a solution for the other, I just have not found it in my tickle box yet.

Having bipolar disorder with mood swings does not mean we are always either depressed or manic. It does not mean our response to situations mean we are exhibiting certain behaviors ascribed to mental illness.  Sometimes we are just being us.  I am just being me.  I would much rather laugh than cry.

Sometimes the way I respond to things is just my personality and it is okay.  I like being me.  I think having bipolar adds to me being uniquely me.  After all, it puts me in a group of special elite people like the ones who read my blog and others I come in contact with from time to time.

I am not saying, I am glad I have a mental illness, but if I dwell on it being a negative, I will live a life of misery and find no reason to fight to stay mentally well.

I did not ask for mental illness no more than I asked for any other illness I have.  Just as I have accepted having other illnesses and chose to try to live healthy, I need to do the same with bipolar.  Once I know my triggers, I need to avoid them if possible and deal with them when they cannot be avoided.  It just makes life more of a challenge.

One thing we can say, there are no boring spaces in our life when living day to day with mental illness.

Give mental illness symptoms a fight and embrace all the good parts you can and make the not so good parts better when you can.  Remember, episodes are storms that we have come through in the past and will continue to go through.  Never give up.

My name is Patricia.  I am positive that I am powerfully persistent at trying to bring a smile or a voice of understanding to all I meet on my journey of life.  Bipolar is another avenue for me to go down to meet others and try to make them smile or laugh even for just a moment in time.

Make someone laugh today, even if you only make yourself laugh for a brief moment.

love to all,

Positive and Persistent to cheer you on, Patricia

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

4 thoughts on “Laugh in the face of not so good news”

Leave a Reply

