Mania on a high wire

Things have been pretty zany lately.

It feels like I have been walking a tightrope without a safety net. The safety net would have been my support system.

I have not been manic for a while and this time was more intense than it had been in the past.  All the emotions were at the extreme end of the spectrum and I was there alone.  My support system was down and I was on the high wire with no one to spot me; needless to say, it was very scary.

The mania has passed and I am back to the middle of the pole.  I can finally exhale (for now) and just in time because I have started applying for jobs in the mental health field.

With a position in the mental health field I will be able to take all the good, the bad and the not so good experiences of living with a mental illness and hopefully give someone else hope and inspiration for new and better tomorrows.

I believe we can help others who are struggling with and trying to get balance in life with a mental illness, when we are willing to share our struggles and victories with them.

Sometimes hearing what someone else is experiencing reassures us that we are not alone in what we go through.  This knowledge helps me remember in a storm that I will get through this just as others have.  Someone else’s victory gives me strength to hold on as well as remembering my past rise from storms.  I am like the phoenix who rose from the ashes.

  Rising like a phoenix from the ashes

               1. Mythology A bird in Egyptian mythology that lived in the desert for 500 years and then consumed itself                        by fire, later  to rise renewed from its ashes.
               2. A person or thing of unsurpassed excellence or beauty; a paragon
     My greatest desire has always been to be able to inspire others to take steps to make a better life for themselves regardless of what life gives.  I am a person who loves people and I love sharing all the trials and triumphs that I have experienced both physically and mentally to show others that regardless of how high the mountain or how low the valley you can come through to the surface where there is light and life.

I love where I am at this point in my life even with the mania.  Sometimes the mania makes life more exciting because it causes me to go outside of the box society tries to keep people in.  It can be amazing and exhilarating living out of the box and making your own tracks in life.

Everything that I have gone through and will go through make me who I am and make me a stronger person.  I no longer kick against the things I have no control over (bipolar mania and sadness leading to depression- chemical imbalance), but embrace what makes me unique and try to live everyday to the fullest.

A person will never meet two bipolar people who are the same because even though we have the same diagnosis and experience mania and depression, it is different for everyone.

Live life to the fullest regardless of where you are in it.  Always reach for more than what you have and further than where you are.  You deserve all that life has to offer.  Go after it with all the gusto you have and use the force of mania to propel you as far as it can.

Love to all,

pb:  Persistent and Passionately Pursuing my dream to support and uplift others on their journey.

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

2 thoughts on “Mania on a high wire”

  1. I enjoy your writing. I could be writing the same words. I have just been blogging for a month and reading other blogs. I have written when manic and depressed. I hate writing when I am down. I usually hide, but no more. We are all more than our diagnosis.

Leave a Reply

