No regrets

I was thinking this morning how thankful I am to God for where I am in life right now and I realized I have no regrets.

There were times I was in some dark places and I have done things I am certainly not proud of, however, all those experiences contribute to the person I am today.

If I spent my time regretting my life and decisions I’ve made, I would not be able to move forward and that would be a shame.

I believe the experiences we go through and come through in life shape who we become.

You cannot teach a person to be compassionate, understanding of others’, have empathy or do things from the heart.  These are traits one is usually born with or develop as a result of being put in a position of non favor and having to overcome ridicule/ negative comments or behaviors from others.

Living with a mental illness or recovering from drug/ alcohol addiction are examples of life experiences that can potentially help develop these traits.

Had it not been for some experiences in my life from a young child, I doubt I would be thinking about a career that would allow me to help encourage others to reach their goals.  I would not be effective at relating to people in various life situations.  I would have nothing to share.  I would not have a story to tell showing people hope.

Without those humbling experiences I would not be able to show compassion, empathy, be nonjudgmental regarding a person’s situation or even know the importance of really listening.

These are all reasons why I have no regrets.

love to all,

pb: Positively and Persistently Pursuing my dream to be a Peer Support Person.

Everyone needs someone to walk with them sometime.

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

Leave a Reply

