Relationships

Has anyone started a relationship since being diagnosed with mental illness?

I would like to know how hard is it to date when you have a mental illness?  When do you tell the person you have a mental illness?

I am sure it is not on the first date, maybe not the second.  Do you wait until things get serious?

Is there a certain amount of dates you go on before you tell them?

I am afraid of scaring the person off, but I would like to get to know them before I spring that on them.

If you are in a relationship, has having a mental illness had an effect on any part?

Is it possible to find someone who is patient and loving when you are having a manic episode or going through major depression?

Any answers or words of wisdom is appreciated.

love to all

pb: Persistent Pursuing my Passion to help others by giving them a hand up and walking with them on their journey to being mentally healthy.

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

6 thoughts on “Relationships”

  1. I haven’t started a relationship since getting my diagnosis but I have been in a relationship for 14 years, so i will still try to answer a little bit. It all depends on how you meet the person, if it’s online then you tend to get personal pretty quickly, you don’t have the physical markers and signs so you make up for it by communicating a lot more. In this case, you would probably share quite early on. Other than that, I would go case by case, feel things out and judge for yourself when you feel it’s right. It’s a subjective thing, but i would err on the side of caution and keep a general rule of never letting things get close to serious without telling them. Pretend that instead of bipolar, you have cancer…when would you divulge to someone you’re dating that you have a life altering disease?

    1. Thanks for sharing. I appreciate it. It has been a while and I have not dated since being diagnosed. I was in a relationship when I was diagnosed and it continued for a while. The reason for the breakup had nothing to do with the bipolar. I am just trying to get a plan together so when I do date, it is not something I will struggle with.

      1. Not to be discouraging in any way, but it’s always going to be something you struggle with, at least a little bit, but you definitely CAN have a successful relationship and also have bipolar, it just makes it a bit harder and you have to be aware of your behaviours and how they effect other people. If you keep as self aware as you possibly can and keep communication open and honest, you can handle any relationship with grace 🙂

  2. yeah, he will tell you that you take everything way too personal, that you are always not ok, he will ask you if will be always like this, he will tell that you exaggerate everything…. should I continue?

Leave a Reply

