Memory problems

It seems as though every time I come to this site, it has changed.  It confuses me sometimes (which I am not ashamed to say)

Anyway, some time ago I realized I have a memory problem at times.

For example: when  my children were growing up, I thought I worked a lot of years for 12 months or more at each  job.  When I printed and viewed my Social Security statement, I saw that there were only 2 or 3 jobs at the most, that I worked a year, give or take a month or two either direction.  When I told my therapist we both agreed that, that was time I had lost.  No idea what happened during those months I thought I worked.

One time very recently, I asked my daughter how long she had been at her job.  She told me 1 year.  I argued with her for a while until she told me what year she started working.  It blew my mind I could not remember what I had done for a whole year.

Last year there was a problem with the months.  I felt as though I was at the end of being sane.  A friend of mine came over and was talking with me.  I thought we were in the month of June and kept saying  June.  It was actually July.  What happened that I got stuck in June.

I will argue with one family member.  This person has an excellent memory.  They forget nothing.  Every time they state something they have said to me, I argue that they did not. Most of the time, I know they said it, I just don’t remember and try not to let on that I forgot.  I try to get them to think they never said it in the first place.

I met a guy a while back.  We had a good time.  He even  texted me the next day that he had a good time.  When I did not hear from him, I thought he blew me off.  When he did answer his phone, he told me he was sick.  No problem right.  It seemed as though days passed and I did not hear from him.

I got angry and sent text messages for not calling me. I did not even remember what I had texted so I did not understand why he was so upset.   He called me quite upset and told me not to call him again.  At least that is what I believed I heard.  I cried as though we had been lovers when we had met one time.

He called me some time later.  I thought it had been months but it was actually only maybe a week or two at the most if that long.  The problem was on my part.  I had a problem with days and weeks.  I got angry for him not calling because I thought a week or two had passed.  It turned out, it had only been a couple of days.

I still lose days sometimes but not as bad.  Maybe because I have a calendar on my phone and I can look at it and see what day it is because it is highlighted.

Am I assuming I have memory problems or am I really?  Is this something everyone experiences whether they have a mental illness or not?

 

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

2 thoughts on “Memory problems”

  1. Huh. Memory. Sorry, what were we talking about……………..? I do think it’s a mental illness thing. I have a memory problem too. I can’t remember what I’ve said to people, often repeating myself. I forget what people say to me – total blank. Or my guy will say ‘remember that place we ate at’ and its like my mind has been magnetically stripped of any recollection. NOTHING. I remember nothing of that place, or that meal. End of last month, looking at my bank statement, I flew into a freak out ‘cos I thought my bank card had been cloned and someone was spending money off my account. I just didn’t remember ever being at or spending money at the places reflected on my statement. It frightens me. So I hear you. And you’re not alone.

Leave a Reply

