Fighter

Recently I went to the doctor because a mass, cyst, tumor, depending on which doctor you ask, it is what it is.

His medical assistant took the paperwork and checked it with my medical history.

When the Dr. read the information, his comment was “you are a fighter”

I never thought of myself as a fighter  before.  My comment was, if you don’t fight you die.

I am a lot of things that people try to compliment me on and I have a hard time  believing them.   But this I could believe.   “I am a fighter”

We all fight for something we want to hold onto, things people and especially our health.

I fight for my health.  Kidney disease, bipolar, psychogenic non epileptic seizures as well as other diagnosis.  I have been through cancer twice.

Yet, by the grace of God and the strength he gives me, I am still here and life is totally awesome.

I fight like crazy everyday to keep my mind and  body moving.  It is very easy to lay in bed and make excuses to mentally take a trip to a day when you no longer have to work.

That’s okay.  But, we with mental illness diagnosis’s  cannot afford to take the tine off. It is too dangerous.  We might take a day and then another and then another because we let or mind  wonder to a time when we no longer have this bipolar or other mental illness. We know that there is no cure and it becomes discouraging but we have to get up whether we want to or not.

A fighter in the ring, gets knocked down,but he gets back up if he wants to win.

We can get through the depression and manic episodes because we have done it before.  We won the last time because I am here writing this and you are here reading it.

We are VICTORIOUS.

 

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

2 thoughts on “Fighter”

  1. You beat cancer TWICE?! On top of everything else? Geez, you really are a fighter. I believe some people, rare people in this world, are born fighters because of the hardships we come to bear. Good for you, and keep on fighting

    1. I will definite keep on fighting. When I stop, it means I have lost hope. As tired as I get sometimes, I know I have to keep fighting. I always say, For my good and God’s Glory. Honestly, I don’t think I would have been able to hold on this long in fighting if not for my faith. Thank you for your word of encouragement.

Leave a Reply

