There goes another one

It seems as though any time a man is nice to me, whether is a friendly hug, compliment or just being plain nice, my head starts thinking it is the beginning of a relationship.  It is. the only problem is that the relationship only exists in my head, the sick part of the brain.

I always seem to mess up potential friendships with men because I do not tell them I live with bipolar which for them means DRAMA.

Even I hate the day to day DRAMA that is a big part of bipolar.

Recently, someone I respect and admire, told me I would never have a real involved relationship with a man.  Bipolar in itself is hard to ask someone to deal with and then there are my physical illnesses as well.  The bipolar seems to be running the show.

My question: Is she right.  Is it impossible to have a romantic relationship having bipolar?

What are the success rates or are the divorce rates higher.

Is anyone currently in a relationship where one person is bipolar and the other is not?

How is it working.

Do you ever feel you cannot handle the mood changes any more.

I would love to hear from you.

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

12 thoughts on “There goes another one”

  1. Although I haven’t been diagnosed with it so I can’t say I understand your situation completely. But someone I love and respect dearly told me the same that no matter how many men I go through I would never be able to keep one because one day I’m ice and another I’m fire. Although it hurt to hear I also felt it was kind of true..which was a scary way to feel and think about myself

    1. It is a hard reality for me to accept,yet, I know it is true without being told. I have so much love to give and it hurts knowing that the odds are against me to be in a lasting, loving relationship. I myself find it difficult to live with my ups and downs of bipolar so I know it is a lot to ask of someone else. Thank you for sharing.

      1. We dated from 2006 to 2009, then married. Been married since. Yes it has had it’s challenges but it is not a deal breaker or a doom situation that some may make it out to be. I told him in the first month of dating.

      2. Also, the key to making it work is having the spouse truly understand what it is through real research or talking to a professional. They have to realize that they cannot be your doctor or cure you. Also realize not to walk on egg shells around you for fear they will do something to set you off. That isnt healthy for a marriage for anyone to do that.

      3. I agree, which is one of the reasons we are no longer together. There were other factors as well but he never wanted to go to a support group and the only time he went with me to the therapist and psychiatrist was to let them know I was over medicated. They saw that he did not understand and did not make the effort. They thought he was detrimental to my recovery. Looking back now, I see that it was true. We were co-dependents. I love my freedom right now so that I can work on my recovery.
        Thank you all your comments and especially your advice.

Leave a Reply

