Grief

I used to attend a place that not only helped people find employment but offered encouragement and a home away from home.  This is a place you can exhale when you walk through the door.  No judgement from staff or peers.

They are genuinely concerned about our well being.  You cannot fake being genuine.  If you do fake concern, it is sensed by your actions and words and you help no one.  W

I chose to blog about grief.

I believe that as people with a mental illness we are connected in some way.  We understand the pain and sorrow and extreme highs that others witness, but do not understand.  They do not know we are on a see saw trying to sit in the middle to find balance.  When they do not see the balance, some recognize that something is wrong in our mind.  Others that do not understand our illness seem to believe we are the way we are or do what we do because we want to.

To me, having a mental illness creates a family even though we do not know each other.  I have biological relatives I have never met.  Does that make them any less of a family member to me.  No, it certainly does not.

I was recently informed someone in our family had committed suicide.   Although I never met this person, it pained me greatly.    Another life that suicide took.

At the memorial, whenever I spoke to someone about this person, my eyes began to well as though  I knew them personally.

We were asked to go around the room, introduce our self and say something about how special this young person was.

Strange.  When it came to me, I was so sorrowful, I could not speak and again I became choked up and tears welled in my eyes.  It was something I did not understand. I passed and did not take my turn for fear of breaking down.

After everyone spoke, I raised my hand.  What was I going to say?  I did not personally know this person.

What I did and do know, it that we lost a member of our family.  We are a family and if we do not care about, help each other or even grieve the loss of one of us, beside that person biological family, who will help us in a time of great tragedy.

The loss of one of our family members affects us all whether we know each other not.

We are a family.  Let us love and support one another not only in time of grief but life also.

I  have a number of diagnosis both mental and physical, none are my fault, yet when I wake up in the morning, I am thankful for another day despite the highs. lows and mixed episodes we suffer.

By no means is it easy, however it is another day of hope that someone will find the right cocktail for those of us who are still riding the roller coaster of mental illness.

It is another day of possibility live will come into our life and love us enough that they believe no one else is for them.

Don’t stop being part of the family.  We need each other.

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

2 thoughts on “Grief”

Leave a Reply

