Crying for no reason or because

Sometimes a thought will flicker in my mind just for a moment, but that moment seems like the thought has been there for a while.

It grips me for whatever reason I do not understand and I begin to cry.  The tears roll, my eyes are red and my nose will  not stop running.  My face is such that I cannot hide it.

Sometimes there seems there is no reason or rationality.  Maybe at that moment I was laughing about something or enjoying an activity.  Then I feel the pain in my heart.  Not a pain that medicine or the doctor can fix: it is the pain of crying welling up on the inside beginning to make its’ way out.

It only takes a moment to feel this way before I know the dam will break.

That seems to be crying for no reason and I think that is part of the bipolar, the sad leading into depression part if we are not aware of our pattern of this.

Sometimes, someone can say something to me and for no reason it has a negative effect even though it was not their intention to make me feel that way.  Nevertheless, I feel as if I have done something wrong or just feel like crying for no reason.  They never said anything cruel.

I think what is might be is that they are saying I do not ask for help with financial things because of pride or whatever the reason.  They are making assumptions and I do not feel capable of defending myself at the time. There words are coming at me so fast and my thinking of a response comes very slow.    I believe they are basing their reaction to my tears because they feel I am weak or overly sensitive.

I try to explain it is not anything that was said.  It is important for me to try to do things for myself and that I do not want to ask anyone out of the mental health family to help me. We understand or try to .  I believe we help each other sometimes by sharing and sometimes just by being there and letting them know we understand.

So my question is, when there is no apparent reason for me to cry is that the bipolar or me being sensitive to nothing.

or

Am I crying because someone has misjudged me and I  believe there is no explaining so they understand.

Why am I crying?  Does this happen to anyone else and do you feel it is part of our illness or  no.

 

Author: Fighter

I finally accepted what people have been telling me. I am full of knowledge and wisdom and I am unforgettable. My word of encouragement since 2015 has been to let others know, despite the waves and ripples in our lives, Life is totally awesome, even with a mental illness. I believe my purpose is to encourage others, advocate for those around me who have not yet found their voice to advocate for themselves and educate those without a mental illness. If for one for minute someone laughs or smiles because of something I said, that is one moment they did not think about mental illness.

8 thoughts on “Crying for no reason or because”

  1. Depression makes me cry. There doesn’t have to be a reason. Or there is and as I cry I end up crying over something else completely. I also cry when I am misjudged by people, because that is cruelty. I don’t think it would be human not to cry in that situation – or human in our bipolar state of being that is, where we are so highly sensitive. I hope I’ve made sense

    1. Plenty. Thank you for sharing. I appreciate it. I was upset just this morning because no one in my immediate family took or takes the time to find out even a little about my illness. That really hurts. It feels as though my world is getting smaller and smaller. I am often misjudged because of my actions because no one has a clue what bipolar is or the symptoms.

      1. People tend to be scared of the problem because its a ‘mental illness’. So they rather stick their head in the sand. My father never mentions the word ‘bipolar’. When I go into hospital he calls it ‘needing some rest’ meantime I’m bathshit crazy. They are too scared to know, let alone understand the illness. I’m sorry you feel so isolated, its not a good feeling. But you’ll find loads of support here on wordpress, myself included ❤

      2. I not only find support here, but that someone cares and that I matter to someone whether we know each other or not. I believe we are all connected.

  2. You don’t even know how many people are going through something similar, even I do. For example it happens to me while watching a movie- I connect it with something similar that happened to me in the past or whatever, and I start to cry not knowing particularly why with a feeling of such sadness like I was tearing my heart apart. That feeling of downfall is something unbelievable.
    So I can relate to this so much…
    Thank you and take care.

    1. Thank you for taking the time to read my post and for your comment. Sometimes I am not sure if it is the bipolar or just me being too sensitive as some have accused me of being or having a pity party when I cannot stop crying.

Leave a Reply

